Back to school, I mean work… school/work

After the amazing last few weeks of pure nothingness that I’ve enjoyed (In terms of work – because my weeks of nothingness were jam packed with awesome activities and adventures!) I’m finally back to work – and school. October couldn’t come soon enough in that respect – I’m one of those people that wonder why I ever decided to go to university, but never stopped because once I realized I hated it, I figured I might as well finish what I had started. Ergo – useless degree will finally be mine come October! As long as no major screw ups happen on my part of course.

I’m still filling my free time with as much woodworking, gardening, cooking, writing, reading, and other fun learning as much as possible. Tonight I was feeling peckish when I got home from work and whipped up a new recipe! Garlic rubbed pork, grilled sweet potatoes, marinated veggies – the works, and since all my roommates decided to bugger off to other places, I have leftovers to last me the year… okay week… maybe the next few days. Needless to say, I’ll be eating pork for breakfast, lunch, and dinner for the foreseeable future.

Good thing it was DELICIOUS!

The potatoes in particular were amazing. I love sweet potatoes, experimenting with different ways to cook them is one of my favourite past times. Grilled, garlic, absolutely godly sweet potatoes were the result this time.

I microwaved a sweet potato for about five minutes to soften it up, then sliced it width wise, brushed them with some olive oil and sprinkled them with sea salt then threw them on the barbie.

Image

While they were heating up, I sauteed some olive oil, fresh thyme from the garden (another story that is coming, GOD I LOVE GARDENING!), minced garlic and some red chili pepper flakes on a little skillet right there on the barbecue. After about three minutes of cooking, I flipped them and brushed on the seasoned oil.

For the veggies:
Chopped broccoli, carrots, pepper, and onion I tossed around with some honey, balsamic vinegar, garlic, and butter, wrapped them up in tinfoil and threw them on the barbecue as well.

Someone special told me to stop being so anal about measuring stuff… so I didn’t measure anything. I’m such a risk taker!

The pork I gave a dry rub of garlic salt, sugar, cumin, paprika, black pepper, chili powder, and onion powder.

I don’t like spicy things. I’m about as scared of chili powder as I am of spiders – but again I’m in the risk taking business these days so I thought, “why not?” And sprinkled some of that spicy shit right in with the rest of the dry rub.

Image

My timing is all off, which is the only thing I would fix about this meal. The pork took much, much longer than I expected, and for once, the potatoes took next to no time at all. ( I may have overdone it on the microwaving.)

Regardless, they kept warm on the side of the barbie with no burners on. I’m still getting the hang of the barbecue, but I don’t know how I ever lived without it now. You can cook everything on this thing!Image

After standing around talking to the food, imploring it to speed up its cooking process, I realized I probably looked crazy to my neighbors, so I did some more work on this fella while  waiting. It’s really coming along!

And when it was finally finished, voila! –ImageWashed it all down with some homemade strawberry lemonade.

What a treat!

Leave a Reply

