Busy Little Bee!

Now that my house is no longer a disaster zone I can finally write about what I’ve been spending my time on these past few weeks!

I’ve been frantically working on a few projects that were a surprise. Now that the big surprise has been revealed, I can share them without worry of spoiling it!

For the past little bit Soph has expressed her wish that the house would look a little more put together.  She had to leave for two weeks for work, and since it was our anniversary I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to do an extreme home make over, and surprise her with several pieces of furniture on her return!

I will admit that I may have overcommitted a bit on the amount of furniture. There were several moments where I was absolutely positive that there was no way I was going to be able to finish everything; and that instead of a nice, new interior my girl would be coming home to a messy, sawdust encrusted workshop. However, after several  gin and tonics, lots of swearing, tons of dancing and absolutely horrendous singing; as well as an excessive amount of noise that I was perpetually apologizing to the upstairs neighbours for,  I managed to churn out a coffee table, two night stands, a book case, wine glass holders, and a guitar wall mount before she came home.

This was not an easy accomplishment – but it was an empowering one. There is very little that tops the feeling of being able to put your feet up on a coffee table that you made with your own two hands after a long day of sawing, hammering, measuring, drilling, sanding and staining.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This coffee table was made from old pallet boards and some 1x4s I pulled from the scrap pile at a nearby construction lot. I antiqued the edges with sandpaper after staining to add to the worn, rustic feel. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But my favourite part about this piece is actually something that was on the wood well before I decided it would become this coffee table. I made a conscious decision to design the coffee table around the wood from the pallet board that had the heat treatment stamps placed on them. I love the look it gives to the table:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I decided on a bookshelf for my next project as the last few boxes that were left to be unpacked were full of books with no home. So, while the coffee table’s stain was drying I began the process of piecing together a book shelf. Since I’m not one to take credit for a design that I didn’t create I’ll link you over to these awesome plans that I found online  at a website called Shanty 2 Chic. Honestly, this site is such a gem. So many ideas – my head could explode!
Bookshelf Plans.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I increased the height and width of the bookshelf from the original plans in order to better fit it into the space that I needed and used 2x4s instead of 2x3s for the posts. It was a bit of a challenge to get it together in such a small space with only two hands to hold things in place, but lots of clamps helped immensely!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My last project was a set of night stands for the bedroom. I wanted the bedroom to look a little more completed then it had been looking with it’s bare walls and sparse, mismatched furniture, and I had a lot of extra wood from my scavenging expeditions.
Unfortunately, when working with reclaimed wood, it is difficult to create matching sets, but that’s all part of the charm right?
In any case, one night stand is framed with 2x3s and one with 2x2s, so the dimensions are a little bit different.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nightstand 1

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Night stand 2

I was scraping the bottom of the barrel on wood at this point and to drive that point home I’ll show you a little bit of what the interior parts of the night stands were made of. The board that the top of the table slats were attached to was a scrap of wood that I had done practice carvings on before sending out Christmas presents to the family. It served pretty well as a support, and I kind of like knowing it’s there out of sight with a bunch of my family member’s names on it!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sides of the night stands are made out of these old boards that I had been using as racks for staining other projects – yay for another level of recycling!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ll post picture of the guitar mounts when I have them up on the wall. All wall hangings require a second set of eyes as I tend to be pretty awful at judging good locations for mounting things. Besides, I think I’ve overloaded you with some of the work I’ve been doing lately!

I’ll leave you with some before and afters!

Before

Before

After

After

Before

Before

After

After

Leave a Reply

